Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission. Established by the Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission Act (SC 1964-65, c.19), the commission consists of six members, three appointed by the Government of Canada and three by the government of the United States, to administer the Roosevelt Campobello International Park at Campobello, NB, The Canadian section of the commission reports to Parliament through the secretary of state for external affairs.

Royal Canadian Mint. In operation since January 1908, the mint was first established as a branch of the Royal Mint under the United Kingdom Coinage Act of 1870. In December 1931, by an act of the Canadian Parliament, it became the Royal Canadian Mint and operated as a branch of the finance department. By the Government Organization Act of 1969, the mint became a Crown corporation, reporting to Parliament through the minister of supply and services. It operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.R-8.

The latter change was made to provide for a more industrial type of organization and for flexibility in producing coins of Canada and other countries; buying, selling, melting, assaying and refining gold and other precious metals; and producing medals, plaques and other devices. The mint has a seven-man board of directors appointed by the Governor-in-Council — the master of the mint is its chief executive officer; the chairman is appointed for a four-year period, subject to re-appointment; five other directors, two from inside and three from outside the public service, are appointed for terms of three years. The mint operates basically as a manufacturing enterprise. Financial requirements are provided through loans from the Consolidated Revenue Fund.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police. This civil force, organized and administered by the federal government, was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police. It now operates under authority of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act (RSC 1970, c.R-9) and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with the governments of eight provinces (all except Ontario and Quebec) it is also responsible for enforcing the Criminal Code of Canada and provincial laws within those provinces under the direction of the respective attorneys general. In these provinces the force provides police services to 192 municipalities, assuming enforcement responsibilities for criminal, provincial and municipal laws. The Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories are policed exclusively by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. The commissioner, appointed by the Governor-in-Council, has control and management of the force and of all matters connected therewith, under the direction of the solicitor general of Canada.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. This authority was established by an act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1970, c.S-1) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. It was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Eric. The Crown corporation, Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited, is subsidiary to the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. The authority is composed of a president, a vice-president and a member, and reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Science Council of Canada. This council was established in 1966 (RSC 1970, c.S-5) and became a Crown corporation on April 1, 1969. It consists of 30 members, each having a specialized interest in science or technology. Members normally hold office for three years. All are appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The duties of the council are to assess in a comprehensive manner Canada's scientific and technological resources, requirements and potential and to make recommendations, to increase public awareness of requirements and of interdependence of various groups in society in the development and use of science and technology. The council reports to Parliament through a designated minister, at present the minister of state for science and technology.

Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited. The Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited was established under the Companies Act, by Letters Patent, November 13, 1962. It operates the international toll bridge system between Cornwall, Ont. and Rooseveltown, NY on behalf of the owners, the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority and the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation. It reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council. The council was established by the Government Organization (Scientific Activities) Act, 1976 (SC 1976-77, c.24) as a Crown corporation to promote and assist research and scholarship in the social sciences and humanities and to carry out research.

Standards Council of Canada. The council was established by an act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.41, 1st Supp.) which received royal assent on October 7, 1970. Its objectives are to foster and promote voluntary standardization in fields relating to the construction, manufacture, production, quality, performance and safety of buildings, structures, manufactured articles and products and other goods, including components thereof, not expressly provided for by law, as a means of advancing the national economy, benefiting the